Welcome to Islwyn Running Club Website
Croeso i Wefan Clwb Rhedeg Islwyn
The Valleys  Friendly Running Club                            See us on  

The AGM took place as advertised on Tuesday 5th December at 8:00 p.m. in the Islwyn Bowls Club. The officers elected were as follows:
Chairman: Suzanne Davidson
Vice Chair: Nicola Richards
Secretary: Mike Heare
Treasurer: David Waters
Membership Secretary: Martin Jones
Social Secretary: Sara Arnold
Men’s Club Captain: Jason Dixon
Men’s Vice Captain: Steve Lane
Women’s Club Captain: Helen Williams
Women’s Vice Captain: Sian Adey
In addition to the above, the rest of your committee is as follows:
Keith Davies, Hannah Davies, Vicki Jones, Juli Williams, Rhydwyn Harris, Kelly Hall, Kelly Wall, Mike Dury, Jo Harris and Angela Price.

IRC Wins Sport Caerphilly Club Of The Year!
A great night for IRC winning Sport Caerphilly's club of the year, a just reward for everyone who has made a contribution to the running of the club - round of applause everybody!

Winter LCL & Gwent League 2017/8 X/C Race Series
Seems a shame to get them dirty, but you know you have to sooner or later...
The dates for your diary for the LCL X/C series are as follows:
Race 1: Sun. 8th Oct. 2017.
Hosted by : Parc Bryn Bach Running Club
Venue : Parc Bryn Bach, Merthyr Road, Tredegar, NP22 3AY.
The presentation of awards for the LCL 2016/17 Road Race Series and the Combined Series will take place afterwards.
The remaining fixtures are:

Race 2 : Sun. 19th Nov. 2017.
Hosted by : Lliswerry Runners.
Venue : Rogerstone Primary School, Ebenezer Road, Rogerstone, Newport, NP10 9YX.
Race 3 : Sun 7th Jan. 2018.
Hosted by : Spirit of Monmouth.
Venue : Humble By Nature Farm, Monmouth, NP25 4RP.
Race 4 : Sun. 4th Feb. 2018.
Hosted by : Usk Runners.
Venue : Usk Campus, Usk, NP15 1XJ.
Race 5 : Sun. 11th Mar. 2018.
Hosted by : Caerleon Running Club.
Venue : Caerleon (exact venue TBC).
Please try to make every effort to support your club and attend at least one (if not all) of the above. Come on, you know you want to!
The club will also be entering teams in the Gwent League X/C series. The first fixture is:
Race 1: Sat. 14th Oct. 2017.
Venue : Llandaff Fields, Cardiff.
Details of the remainder of the fixtures are on the Gwent League website here or on our IRC site here.

Scenic 7 Resurrection!
Thanks to the sterling efforts of Mike Heare the 26th edition of this iconic race returns for 2017! The race will take place on Sunday September 10th @ 11:00 a.m., all proceeds to charity (Stroke Association). There will be winners' prizes and male and female team prizes.
Entries £5 affiliated, £7 unaffiliated.
Results now available here.
The usual venue with onsite parking:
Cwmcarn Forest Drive,
NP11 7FA.

IRC @ Parc Bryn Bach League Race
Fantastic turnout at the first leisure league road race of the season, 90+ runners! The race was followed by the category award presentations for the X/C series. Islwyn's winners (same as last year!) were as follows:
Anne Rice-Jones 3rd F50-54
Steve Lane 3rd M40-44
Islwyn women equal 5th overall in the series, Islwyn men 7th overall in the series.

IRC Members With VLM Medals!

IRC Promoted Races
The dates for our own IRC promoted races for 2017 are as follows:
Sirhowy Challenge: Sunday May 14th @ 10:00 a.m. Confirmed results available here.
The Blade Runner:  Wednesday June 28th @ 7:00 p.m. Confirmed results available here.
Murder Mile:          Friday 4th August @ 7:00 p.m. Online entry available here.
Also, don't forget the summer leisure league race hosted by IRC @ Parc Penallta on Tuesday June 6th @ 7:30 p.m. More details here.
Please make every effort to support these races, either by participating or by volunteering in some capacity! 

IRC Annual Awards 2016
The evening of Friday 27th January saw Islwyn Running Club hold their 2016 awards ceremony, this time @ the Islwyn Indoor Bowling Centre (yes, Dan Do) in Pontllanfraith, with an attendance in excess of 100 guests. Entertainment was provided by Keith Davies and Gareth 'Bagsy' Baker, complemented by our very own Rhydwyn Harris's excellent band, Under the Covers! Oh yes, a memorable evening... 
Awards as follows:
Female club champion:
Kelly Felstead
Male club champion:
Paul Hayward
Best Female Newcomer:
Sharon Carrafa
Best Male Newcomer:
Gareth Baker
'Future Flyers' Graduate:
Emily Jane Welsh
Most Improved male:
Paul Hayward
Most Improved female:
Juli Williams 
Outstanding Achievement:
Ceri Bartley, Jayne Jones
Chairman's Award:
Martin Jones
10 Year Awards:
Haydn Hartnell, Donna James, Ruth Treharne

Thanks were expressed to Sara Arnold for organising the evening. An excellent time was had by all!
Some actual award winners:
Credit to Mike Kelly for the photos.