Welcome to Islwyn Running Club Website
Croeso i Wefan Clwb Rhedeg Islwyn
The Valleys  Friendly Running Club                            See us on  



Scenic 7    
Resurrected? Maybe...
The race was reduced to 5 miles this year, due to restrictions imposed by Natural Resources Wales as a result of this year's wild fires, with all proceeds going to the Fire Brigade charity.
Team Winners
Male team: Aberdare - Dan Bodman, Sam Gregory and Joseph Reardon.
Female team: Parc Bryn Bach - Hannah Williams, Helen Williams and Melissa Pearce.
1st Dan Bodman - Aberdare MMRT 27:49
2nd Mark Jennings - MMRT 27:54
3rd Sam Gregory - Aberdare 28:17

1st Hannah Williams - Parc Bryn Bach 37:29
2nd Clare Patterson - Pont-y-pwl 38:33
3rd Helen Williams - Pont-y-pwl 38:59

1st male vet Mark Jennings - MMRT 27:54
1st male supervet Haydn Hartnell - Parc Bryn Bach 35:04

1st female vet Clare Patterson - Pont-y-pwl 38:33
1st female supervet Fiona Davies - Pontypridd 39:48
Team Winners
Male team: MMRT - Craig Williams, Chris Williams, Matthew Collins and Mark Jennings
Female team: Pont-y-pwl - Lisa Griffin, Lou Summers, Harri Like and Nicola Smith
1st Craig Williams - MMRT 41:46
2nd Chris Williams - MMRT 42:35
3rd Matthew Collins - MMRT 43:33

1st Natasha Cockram - MMRT 44:47
2nd Sandra Chipper - Lliswerry 47:38
3rd Lisa Griffin - Pont-y-pwl 52:21

1st male vet Mark Jennings - MMRT 43:45
1st male supervet Ade White - Islwyn 54:11

1st female vet Julie Cashell - Parc Bryn Bach 53:27
1st female supervet Lou Summers - Pont-y-pwl 54:03

The race has been cancelled for the foreseeable future due to the closure of Cwmcarn Forest Drive for the felling and removal of infected larch trees. A replacement race is currently under consideration.
Team Winners
Male team Fairwater Mark Jennings, Darryl Barnby, Richard Lloyd and Matthew Lloyd
Female team Pont-Y-Pwl Lou Summers, Fiona Cross, Nicola Smith, Zoe Elver
1st Dan Bodman - Aberdare 40.16
2nd Mark Jennings - Fairwater 40.43
3rd Darryl Barnby - Fairwater 41.03

1st Clara Evans - Pontypridd 48.05
2nd Nicola Gething - Parc bryn bach 48.50
3rd Lou Summers - Pont-Y-Pwl 52.24

1st male vet Daffyd Lambeth - Islwyn 40.03
1st male supervet Haydn Hartnell - Islwyn 46.18

1st female vet Hazel Craven - Les Croupiers 52.36
1st female supervet Liz Richards - Caerleon 58.51

Team Winners
Male - Islwyn (Richard Johnson, Mike Dury, Robert Davies, Stephen Edwards)
Ladies - Les Croupiers (Jane Coker, Nicky McWilliam, Helen Jessop, Glenda Edwards)
1st Mark Jennings - Fairwater Cwmbran
2nd Matthew Wells - Bridgend Athletic
3rd Darryl Barnby - Fairwater Cwmbran
1st Natasha Cockram - Cwmbran Harriers
2nd Rachel Pearson - U/A
3rd Nicola Gething - Parc Bryn Bach
1st Male Vet Steve Thomas  - Aberdare
1st Male Supervet Steve Davies - Pontypool
1st Female Vet Nicky McWilliam - Les Croupiers
1st Female Supervet Janet Coker  - Les Croupiers
Ronnie Baldwin Memorial Shield (1st local Supervet)
Kerry Price - Islwyn

Team Winners
Male - San Domenico
Ladies - Islwyn
1st Daryll Barnby  - Fairwater
2nd Richard Wilder - San Domenico
3rd Thomas Burden - U/A
1st Sally Wilder - San Domenico
2nd Emma Wookey - Lliswerry
3rd Tammy Lewis-Jones - Eryri
1st male Vet Andrew Dawe - Lliswerry
1st male Supervet Steve Davies - Pontypool
1st female vet Clare Williams - Islwyn
1st female Supervet Jacky Miles - Parc Bryn Bach

The Scenic 7 is a 7mile road race held at the Cwmcarn Forest Drive.   
The 2014 event is the 25th anniversary of this popular midweek event.
Age categories, Male & Female team prizes (4 finishers to qualify).
Advance entries £8.00/Entries on the day £10.
All finishers will receive a memento.
Presentation will be in the The Castle Inn, Pontywaun, NP11 7DU.